Skip directly to: Navigation for this section | Main page content

Human Development Graduate Group

Faculty

Filter by interest area or life phases

  • Photo: Len Abbeduto

    Len Abbeduto

    Director, UC Davis MIND Institute and Tsakopoulos-Vismara Endowed Chair, Department of Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences, School of Medicine
    Interests: Cognitive
    Life Phases:
    E-mail: leonard.abbeduto@ucdmc.ucdavis.edu
    Research Profile

  • Photo: Kristen Alexander

    Kristen Weede Alexander

    Associate Professor of Child Development, CSU Sacramento
    Interests: Biological, Cognitive, Social-Emotional
    Life Phases: Infancy, Early Childhood, Middle Childhood, Adolescence/Emerging Adulthood
    E-mail: kalexander@csus.edu
    Research Profile

  • Photo: Jay Belsky

    Jay Belsky

    Robert M. And Natalie Reid Dorn Endowed Chair Professor
    Interests: Social-Emotional, Family, Biological
    Life Phases: Infancy, Early Childhood, Adolescence, Adulthood
    E-mail: jbelsky@ucdavis.edu
    Research Profile

  • Photo: Zhe Chen

    Zhe Chen

    Professor of Human Development and Family Studies
    Interests: Cognitive, Family, School
    Life Phases: Infancy, Early Childhood, Middle Childhood
    E-mail: zhechen@ucdavis.edu
    Research Profile


  • Photo: Daniel Choe

    Daniel Ewon Choe

    Assistant Professor of Human Development and Family Studies
    Interests: Biological, Cognitive, Family, Health & Mental Health, Social-Emotional
    Life Phases: Early Childhood, Middle Childhood, Adolescence
    E-mail: danchoe@ucdavis.edu
    Research Profile


  • Photo: Katherine Conger

    Katherine Conger*

    Professor of Human Development and Family Studies
    Interests: Social-Emotional, Family, Health & Mental Health, Government/Social Policy
    Life Phases: Adolescence/Emerging Adulthood, Adulthood
    Email: kjconger@ucdavis.edu
    Research Profile


  • Photo: Rand Conger

    Rand Conger*

    Emeritus Professor of Human Development and Family Studies
    Interests: Social-Emotional, Family, School, Health & Mental Health, Culture/Neighborhood/Society
    Life Phases: Early Childhood, Middle Childhood, Adolescence/Emerging Adulthood, Adulthood
    E-mail: rdconger@ucdavis.edu
    Research Profile


  • Photo: Nancy Erbstein

    Nancy Erbstein*

    Assistant Research Professor, Human Ecology
    Interests: Culture/Neighborhood/Society; Government/Social Policy; Health & Mental Health; Other; Prevention Research; Research Methodology; School; Social/Emotional
    Life Phases: Middle Childhood; Adolescence/Emerging Adulthood
    E-mail: nerbstein@ucdavis.edu
    Research Profile


  • Photo: Emilio Ferrer

    Emilio Ferrer

    Professor of Psychology
    Interests: Biological, Cognitive, Social-Emotional, Family, School, Research Methodology
    Life Phases: Infancy, Early Childhood, Middle Childhood, Adolescence/Emerging Adulthood, Adulthood, Aging
    E-mail: eferrer@ucdavis.edu
    Research Profile


  • Photo: Lorena Garcia

    Lorena Garcia

    Associate Professor of Public Health Sciences
    Interests: Family, Culture/Neighborhood/Society, Health & Mental Health
    Life Phases: Adulthood
    E-mail: lgarcia@ucdavis.edu
    Research Profile


  • Photo: Kevin Gee

    Kevin Gee

    Assistant Professor of Education
    Interests: Research Methodology, School, Health & Mental Health, Government/Social Policy, Other
    Life Phases: Middle Childhood, Adolescence/Emerging Adulthood
    E-mail: kagee@ucdavis.edu
    Research Profile


  • Photo: Simona Ghetti

    Simona Ghetti

    Professor, Psychology
    Interests: Cognitive
    Life Phases:
    E-mail: sghetti@ucdavis.edu
    Research Profile


  • Photo: Beth Goodlin-Jones

    Beth Goodlin-Jones*

    Associate Professor of Clinical Psychiatry, University of California, Davis, M.I.N.D. Institute
    Interests: Biological, Social-Emotional, Family, Health & Mental Health
    Life Phases: Infancy, Early Childhood
    E-mail: blgoodlinjones@ucdavis.edu
    Research Profile


  • Photo: Gail Goodman

    Gail S. Goodman

    Professor of Psychology
    Interests: Cognitive, Social-Emotional, Health & Mental Health, Government/Social Policy
    Life Phases: Early Childhood, Middle Childhood, Adolescence/Emerging Adulthood, Adulthood
    E-mail: ggoodman@ucdavis.edu
    Research Profile


  • Photo: Katharine Graf Estes

    Katharine Graf Estes

    Assistant Professor of Psychology
    Interests: Cognitive
    Life Phases: Infancy, Early Childhood
    E-mail: kgrafestes@ucdavis.edu
    Research Profile


  • Photo: Kevin Grimm

    Kevin Grimm*

    Associate Professor of Psychology, Arizona State University
    Interests: Research Methodology
    Life Phases: Middle Childhood
    E-mail: Kevin.J.Grimm@asu.edu
    Research Profile


  • Photo: Amanda Guyer

    Amanda Guyer

    Professor of Human Development and Family Studies
    Interests: Biological, Cognitive, Social-Emotional, Health & Mental Health
    Life Phases: Early Childhood, Middle Childhood, Adolescence/Emerging Adulthood
    E-mail: aeguyer@ucdavis.edu
    Research Profile


  • Photo: Randi Hagerman

    Randi Hagerman

    Distinguished Professor of Pediatrics, endowed chair in Fragile X Research, Medical Director of the MIND Institute and Director of the Clinical Trials Program at the MIND
    Interests: Biological, Cognitive, Social-Emotional, Family, Health & Mental Health
    Life Phases: Early Childhood, Middle Childhood, Adolescence/Emerging Adulthood, Adulthood
    E-mail: randi.hagerman@ucdmc.ucdavis.edu
    Research Profile


  • Photo: Robin Hansen

    Robin Hansen*

    Professor of Pediatrics, University of California, Davis Medical Center and Director, Center of Excellence in Developmental Disabilities
    Interests: Biological, Health & Mental Health
    Life Phases: Infancy, Early Childhood, Middle Childhood
    E-mail: rlhansen@ucdavis.edu
    Research Profile


  • Photo: Lawrence Harper

    Lawrence Harper*

    Emeritus Professor of Human Development and Family Studies
    Interests: Biological, Cognitive, Social-Emotional, Family
    Life Phases: Infancy, Early Childhood
    E-mail: lharper@ucdavis.edu
    Research Profile


  • Photo: Paul Hastings

    Paul Hastings

    Professor of Psychology
    Interests: Biological, Social-Emotional, Family, Culture/Neighborhood/Society, Health & Mental Health
    Life Phases: Early Childhood, Middle Childhood, Adolescence/Emerging Adulthood
    E-mail: pdhastings@ucdavis.edu
    Research Profile


  • Photo: David Hessl

    David Hessl

    Assistant Professor of Psychiatry and Behavioral Science
    Interests: Biological, Cognitive, Social-Emotional, Family, Health & Mental Health
    Life Phases: Infancy, Early Childhood, Middle Childhood, Adolescence/Emerging Adulthood, Adulthood, Aging
    E-mail: david.hessl@ucdmc.ucdavis.edu
    Research Profile


  • Photo: Leah Hibel

    Leah Hibel

    Associate Professor of Human Development and Family Studies
    Interests: Family, Biological, Social-Emotional, Health & Mental Health
    Life Phases: Infancy, Early Childhood
    E-mail: lchibel@ucdavis.edu
    Research Profile


  • Photo: Ladson Hinton

    Ladson Hinton

    Associate Professor of Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences
    Interests:
    Life Phases: Aging
    E-mail: ladson.hinton@ucdmc.ucdavis.edu
    Research Profile


  • Photo: Suad Joseph

    Suad Joseph*

    Distinguished Professor of Anthropology
    Interests: Family, Culture/Neighborhood/Society, Government/Social Policy
    Life Phases: Childhood, Middle Childhood, Adolescence/Emerging Adulthood, Adulthood
    E-mail: sjoseph@ucdavis.edu
    Research Profile


  • Photo: Penelope Krener Knapp

    Penelope Krener Knapp*

    Professor of Psychiatry, University of California, Davis, M.I.N.D. Institute
    Interests: Family, Health & Mental Health, Government/Social Policy, Prevention Research
    Life Phases: Infancy, Early Childhood
    E-mail: pkknapp@ucdavis.edu
    Research Profile


  • Photo: Rosemarie Kraft

    Rosemarie Kraft*

    Emeritus Professor of Human Development and Family Studies
    Interests: Biological, Cognitive, Family, School
    Life Phases: Early Childhood, Middle Childhood, Adulthood
    E-mail: rhkraft@ucdavis.edu
    Research Profile


  • Photo: Siwei Liu

    Siwei Liu

    Assistant Professor of Human Development and Family Studies
    Interests: Research Methodology, Biological, Cognitive, Social-Emotional, Family, Health & Mental Health
    Life Phases: Infancy, Early Childhood, Middle Childhood, Adolescence/Emerging Adulthood, Adulthood, Aging
    E-mail: sweliu@ucdavis.edu
    Research Profile


  • Photo: Ann Mastergeorge

    Ann Mastergeorge*

    Associate Adjunct Researcher of Human Development and Family Studies
    E-mail: ammastergeorge@ucdavis.edu
    Associate Professor & Early Childhood Extension Specialist, Norton School of Consumer and Family Sciences, University of Arizona.
    E-mail: amastergeorge@u.arizona.edu
    Interests: Biological, Cognitive, Social-Emotional, Family, School, Health & Mental Health, Prevention Research
    Life Phases: Infancy, Early Childhood, Middle Childhood
    Research Profile


  • Photo: Craig McDonald

    Craig McDonald

    Professor and Chair of Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation
    E-mail: craig.mcdonald@ucdmc.ucdavis.edu
    Interests:
    Life Phases:
    Research Profile


  • Photo: Lisa Miller

    Lisa M. Soederberg Miller

    Professor of Human Development and Family Studies
    Interests: Cognitive, Social-Emotional, Family
    Life Phases: Adulthood, Aging
    E-mail: lmsmiller@ucdavis.edu
    Research Profile


  • Photo: Peter Mundy

    Peter Mundy

    Lisa Capps Professor of Education, Learning and Mind Sciences, School of Education
    Interests: Biological, Cognitive, Social-Emotional, Family, Culture/Neighborhood/Society, Government/Social Policy, Research Methodology
    Life Phases: Infancy, Early Childhood, Middle Childhood, Adolescence/Emerging Adulthood
    E-mail: pcmundy@ucdavis.edu
    Research Profile


  • Photo: Adrienne Nishina

    Adrienne Nishina

    Associate Professor of Human Development and Family Studies
    Interests: Social-Emotional, School, Culture/Neighborhood/Society, Health & Mental Health, Prevention Research, Research Methodology
    Life Phases: Middle Childhood, Adolescence/Emerging Adulthood
    E-mail: anishina@ucdavis.edu
    Research Profile


  • Photo: Lisa Oakes

    Lisa Oakes

    Professor of Psychology, Center for Mind and Brain
    Interests: Cognitive
    Life Phases: Infancy
    E-mail: lmoakes@ucdavis.edu
    Research Profile


  • Photo: Beth A. Ober

    Beth A. Ober

    Professor of Human Development and Family Studies
    Interests: Biological, Cognitive, Health & Mental Health
    Life Phases: Adulthood, Aging
    E-mail: baober@ucdavis.edu
    Research Profile


  • Photo: Lenna Ontai

    Lenna Ontai

    Associate Specialist of Cooperative Extension
    Interests: Social-Emotional, Family, Culture/Neighborhood/Society, Health & Mental Health, Prevention Research
    Life Phases: Infancy, Early Childhood
    E-mail: lontai@ucdavis.edu
    Research Profile


  • Photo: Richard Ponzio

    Richard Ponzio*

    Emeritus Specialist of Cooperative Extension
    Interests: Family, School, Cognitive,Culture/Neighborhood/Society, Health & Mental Health
    Life Phases: Middle Childhood, Adolescence
    E-mail: rcponzio@ucdavis.edu
    Research Profile


  • Photo: Susan Rivera

    Susan Rivera

    Professor of Psychology
    Interests: Biological, Cognitive
    Life Phases: Infancy, Early Childhood
    E-mail: srivera@ucdavis.edu
    Research Profile


  • Photo: Richard Robins

    Richard Robins

    Professor of Psychology
    Interests: Social-Emotional
    Life Phases: Adolescence, Emerging Adulthood/Adulthood
    E-mail: rwrobins@ucdavis.edu
    Research Profile


  • Photo: Sally Rogers

    Sally Rogers

    Professor of Psychiatry, University of California, Davis, M.I.N.D. Institute
    Interests: Biological, Cognitive, Social-Emotional, Health & Mental Health
    Life Phases: Infancy, Early Childhood
    E-mail: sally.rogers@ucdmc.ucdavis.edu
    Research Profile


  • Photo: Julie Schweitzer

    Julie Schweitzer

    Professor of Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences UCDMC, M.I.N.D. Institute and Director, UC Davis Schools of Health Mentoring Academy
    Interests: Biological, Cognitive, Family, Health & Mental Health
    Life Phases: Early Childhood, Middle Childhood, Adolescence/Emerging Adulthood, Adulthood
    E-mail: jschweitzer@ucdavis.edu
    Research Profile


  • Photo: Phillip Shaver

    Phillip Shaver*

    Emeritus Professor of Psychology
    Interests: Social-Emotional
    Life Phases: Middle Childhood, Adolescence/Emerging Adulthood, Adulthood, Aging
    E-mail: prshaver@ucdavis.edu
    Research Profile


  • Photo: Martin Smith

    Martin Smith

    Associate Specialist in Cooperative Extension Youth Scientific Literacy
    Interests: School, Cognitive
    Life Phases: Early Childhood, Middle Childhood, Adolescence/Emerging Adulthood, Adult
    E-mail: mhsmith@ucdavis.edu
    Research Profile


  • Photo: Emily J. Solari

    Emily J. Solari

    Assistant Professor, School of Education
    Interests: School, Cognitive
    Life Phases: Early Childhood, Middle Childhood, Adolescence
    E-mail: ejsolari@ucdavis.edu
    Research Profile


  • Photo: Marjorie Solomon

    Marjorie Solomon Friedman*

    Associate Professor of Clinical Psychiatry
    Interests: Cognitive, Family, Prevention Research, Social-Emotional
    Life Phases: Early Childhood, Middle Childhood
    E-mail: marjorie.solomon@ucdmc.ucdavis.edu
    Research Profile


  • Photo: Aubyn Stahmer

    Aubyn Stahmer

    Associate Professor of Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences, UC Davis MIND Institute
    Director of Community-based Treatment Research, UC Davis MIND Institute
    Interests: Culture/Neighborhood/Society, Family, Health & Mental Health, School, Social-Emotional
    Life Phases: Infancy, Early Childhood, Middle Childhood
    E-mail: aubyn.stahmer@ucdmc.ucdavis.edu
    Research Profile


  • Photo: Tamara Swaab

    Tamara Swaab

    Associate Professor of Psychology
    Interests:
    Life Phases:
    E-mail: swaab@ucdavis.edu
    Research Profile


  • Photo: Johnna Swartz

    Johnna Swartz

    Assistant Professor Human Development and Family Studies
    Interests: Brain Development, Stress, Genetics, Depression, Anxiety
    Life Phases: Adolescence, Young Adulthood
    E-mail: jrswartz@ucdavis.edu
    Research Profile


  • Photo: Ross Thompso

    Ross Thompson

    Professor of Psychology
    Interests: Social-Emotional, Family, Government/Social Policy
    Life Phases: Infancy, Early Childhood, Middle Childhood
    E-mail: rathompson@ucdavis.edu
    Research Profile


  • Photo: Susan Timmer

    Susan Timmer

    Research Psychologist; CAARE Diagnostic and Treatment Center; Department of Pediatrics
    Interests: Social-Emotional, Family, School
    Life Phases: Early Childhood, Middle Childhood
    E-mail: stimmer@ucdavis.edu
    Research Profile


  • Photo: Yuuko Uchikoshi Tonkovich

    Yuuko Uchikoshi Tonkovich

    Associate Professor, School of Education
    Interests: Cognitive, Culture/Neighborhood/Society, Family, School
    Life Phases: Early Childhood, Infancy, Middle Childhood
    E-mail: yuchikoshi@@ucdavis.edu
    Research Profile


  • Photo: Brian Trainor

    Brian Trainor*

    Assistant Professor of Psychology
    Interests: Biological
    Life Phases: Adulthood
    E-mail: bctrainor@ucdavis.edu
    Research Profile


  • Photo: Kali Trzesniewski

    Kali Trzesniewski

    Associate Director of Research for the Statewide 4-H Youth Development Program and Associate Specialist in Cooperative Extension
    Interests: Social-Emotional, Family, School, Health & Mental Health, Prevention Research, Research Methodology
    Life Phases: Early Childhood, Middle Childhood, Adolescence/Emerging Adulthood
    E-mail: ktrz@ucdavis.edu
    Research Profile


  • Photo: Anthony Urquiza

    Anthony Urquiza

    Clinical Professor; Director of Mental Health Services and Clinical Research, the PCIT Training Center and the CAARE Center
    Interests: Social-Emotional
    Life Phases: Early Childhood, Middle Childhood, Adolescence/Emerging Adulthood
    E-mail: anthony.urquiza@ucdmc.ucdavis.edu
    Research Profile


  • Photo: Karen Watson-Gegeo

    Karen Watson-Gegeo*

    Professor of Education
    Interests: Cognitive, Social-Emotional, Family, School, Culture/Neighborhood/Society, Research Methodology
    Life Phases: Infancy, Early Childhood, Middle Childhood, Adolescence/Emerging Adulthood
    E-mail: kawatsongegeo@ucdavis.edu
    Research Profile


  • Photo: Keith Widaman

    Keith Widaman*

    Distinguished Professor, UC Riverside
    Interests: Biological, Cognitive, Social-Emotional, Family, School, Culture/Neighborhood/Society, Health & Mental Health, Government/Social Policy, Research Methodology
    Life Phases: Infancy, Early Childhood, Middle Childhood, Adolescence/Emerging Adulthood
    E-mail: keith.widaman@ucr.edu
    Research Profile


*- not accepting new students